Sunday, 4 November 2012

The Condors "3 Item Combo", brand new album out now.

Los Angeles based band, The Condors, have just released their latest album "3 Item Combo" on Vital Gesture Records and it is well worth getting hold of a copy. It's an excellent and timeless, muscular guitar album full of melodies and tunes. Kicking off with the great "Here I Go" which has a late seventies New Wave Power Pop feel, reminiscent of The Cars or The Knack. Second track "My Slice Of Life", has a nice jangly guitar motif running through the bittersweet tale and there are hints of Elvis Costello & The Attractions in there too. "Queer Fascination" ups the tempo with a piece of good time Rock & Roll. "All Hung Up" slows the proceedings down with rolling drums and a slightly darker, edgy melody. "Holiday" has a nice languid Teenage Fanclub flow with a lovely guitar break and a plea to escape the greyness of city life. The funky guitar chords to "What's Wrong With That?" lifts the mood with a punchy rhythm and sunny singalong chorus, I can imagine this being a favourite at the band's gigs, and it would make a fine single. "Angry Little Man" is a tough little number with a "Subterranean Homesick Blues" vocal line and some crunching chords bringing things to a close. "Seraphina Why" is followed by "Full Blown Love Attack", a storming garage rocker that The Long Ryders would have been proud to have called their own. "Bad Tattoo" is a bluesy number with some nifty harmonica, and the album ends with "Zzyzx Road" a punchy slice of Americana. So, a really great album, with lots of variety and more importantly lots of truly memorable songs.

The Condors were formed in Los Angeles in 2000 and have released two albums so far, the debut "Tales of Drunkenness and Cruelty" and it's follow up "Wait For It", which received glowing reviews from numerous music and Power Pop web-sites. One of their songs "Set Me On Fire" was used in the opening scene of the Indie film, 'Target Practice", and the music video was included in the DVD extras. The band's one constant is main songwriter and front man Pat Di Puccio, who was originally one of the founders of the legendary American Punk fanzine, "Flipside". The current line-up is made up of Bassist, Mario Di Leva and Drummer Mark Francis White.

No comments:

Post a Comment