Tuesday, 27 April 2021

Retrosonic Podcast with Inge Johansson on Gatuplan, The (International) Noise Conspiracy, CSS, Imperial State Electric & Much More...

For the latest episode of our special Lockdown Lowdown series we welcome former bassist with The (International) Noise Conspiracy, Inge Johansson into the virtual Retrosonic studio to discuss the excellent debut album "Kampen Går Vidare!" by his new solo project Gatuplan. In this thoroughly entertaining chat, Inge takes on a musical journey from the isolation of growing up in a small town in the north of Sweden to finding hope and creative inspiration in the music of Heavy Metal and Punk Rock. There are tales of his first forays into becoming a musician and the early influences on his bass playing. This leads onto touring and recording with acts as diverse as Totalt Jävla Mörker, CSS, Nicke Andersson's Imperial State Electric, Cryssis and The Most and Inge cheerfully recounts his time spent with each of these bands and the characters he met and worked with along the way. Of course we cover his time with The (International) Noise Conspiracy and of running Ny Våg, a record label and club night with frontman Dennis Lyxzén. The episode is sound-tracked by superb songs from each of the featured bands along with a selection of some of Inge's most inspirational musical moments from Kiss, Black Sabbath, The Exploited, Chumbawamba and The Specials. Of course, we also concentrate on Gatuplan and Inge explains the story behind the project, introduces his new bandmates and confesses the somewhat surprising influence behind the choice of band name. So, crank up the volume, sit back and enjoy!

Tracklisting (please click highlighted links for more information)

Gatuplan "Skandinistas"

Gatuplan "Millennial Blues"

Kiss "Heaven's On Fire"

The Exploited "The Massacre"

The (International) Noise Conspiracy "Up For Sale"

Black Sabbath "War Pigs"

Totalt Jävla Mörker "Under Sions Kalla Stjärna"

The (International) Noise Conspiracy "Hiroshima Mon Amour"

 The (International) Noise Conspiracy "Black Mask"

The (International) Noise Conspiracy "Capitalism Stole My Virginity"

CSS "City Grrl"

Imperial State Electric "Deride & Conquer"

The Most "Really Good"

Cryssis "Time of Our Lives"

Gatuplan "Min Revolution"

The Specials "Nite Klub"

Gatuplan "Dee Dee Ramone"

Chumbawamba "Give The Anarchist a Cigarette"

Gatuplan "Cashen Dom Tas"

With many thanks to Inge. Retrosonic theme tune by Adam Donovan. Podcover photo by Diego Aldabaldetrecu. You can order the Gatuplan album "Kampen Går Vidare!" and 7" singles from Sound Pollution Records here and check out more info on the band at their official Facebook page here. Subscribe to Retrosonic Podcast at Soundcloud, Spotify or Apple Podcasts/iTunes.

No comments:

Post a Comment